Tue, 09 Aug 2022

Andrew Luck headlines 2022 College Football Hall of Fame class

Field Level Media
11 Jan 2022, 07:55 GMT+10

Former Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck, star Georgia cornerback Champ Bailey and former Heisman Trophy winning running back Rashaan Salaam of Colorado headline the 2022 College Football Hall of Fame Class announced Tuesday.

Luck was Heisman Trophy runner-up in both 2010 and 2011 and passed for 9,430 yards and 82 touchdowns in three seasons at Stanford. Luck was the No. 1 overall NFL draft choice by the Indianapolis Colts in 2012 and was a Pro Bowl selection four times during a seven-year career.

Bailey stood out at cornerback with eight career interceptions but also played receiver and was a return specialist for Georgia from 1996-98. He was a first-round pick by Washington in the 1999 NFL Draft and was a 12-time Pro Bowler during 15 seasons with Washington (1999-2003) and the Denver Broncos (2004-13). Bailey had 52 career interceptions and was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2019.

Salaam rushed for 2,055 yards and 24 touchdowns in 1994 during his Heisman-winning campaign, his third and final one at Colorado. He was a first-round pick by the Chicago Bears but was unable to find stardom in the NFL. The former eight-man high school star in San Diego shot himself to death in 2016 at age 42.

Also selected for induction were Penn State linebacker LaVar Arrington (1997-99), Texas Tech receiver Michael Crabtree (2007-08), Alabama center Sylvester Croom (1972-74), Ohio State safety Mike Doss (1999-2002), Toledo quarterback Chuck Ealey (1969-71), LSU running back Kevin Faulk (1995-98), Illinois defensive tackle Moe Gardner (1987-90), Illinois State linebacker Boomer Grigsby (2001-04), Oregon State receiver Mike Hass (2002-05), Florida State linebacker Marvin Jones (1990-92), Michigan defensive tackle Mark Messner (1985-88), Oklahoma State running back Terry Miller (1974-77), Alcorn State center Dennis Thomas (1971-73), Nebraska offensive tackle Zach Wiegert (1991-94) and Oklahoma defensive back Roy Williams (1999-2001).

Three coaches also were selected: John Luckhardt, who went 225-70-2 at Washington Jefferson (PA) from 1982-98 and California (PA) from 2002-11; Billy Jack Murphy, who went 91-44-1 at Memphis from 1958-71; and Gary Pinkel, who went 191-110-3 at Toledo (1991-2000) and Missouri (2001-15).

"We are extremely proud to announce the 2022 College Football Hall of Fame Class," said Archie Manning, National Football Foundation Chairman and a 1989 College Football Hall of Famer from Ole Miss. "Each of these men has established himself among the absolute best to have ever played or coached the game, and we look forward to immortalizing their incredible accomplishments."

The class will be inducted on Dec. 6 at a location to be announced.

--Field Level Media

More Kansas City News

Access More

Sign up for Kansas City News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!